Best floor speakers for less than $1,000 pair? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Best floor speakers for less than $1,000 pair?

crash32
04-23-2008, 08:33 AM
I am in the process of building a home theater system, but will be only buying the receiver, woofer, and floor speakers for now. In a few months I will be buying the center, woofer, and surrounds to complete the system.

I have been looking at speakers from B&W and Paradigm. Since I am a total newbie, I really have not had much guidance on what other brands to explore. I was originally looking at the Paradigms, but a ton of people talk about how they are "too bright" and harsh on the ears. In the future, the system will be used mostly for TV, DVD etc and sometimes CD's.

Can anyone recommend a great pair of floor speakers for under $1,000. The room is pretty large so I will be needing something moderately powerful.

In case it makes any difference I will be using an Onkyo 705.

blackraven
04-23-2008, 09:33 AM
If your looking for a great floor stander for under $1k you wont find it, but you can find some good speakers for under $1K.

Here's a few.

Monitor Audio S6 for $999 at http://www.saturday audio.com I think the S6's are on sale for less, also consider the B6 and B8
PSB Image T55 for $949 also at saturday audio onsale for $699
and PSB Image T45 for $799 onsale for $499
Call saturday audio, they will tell you what they think of each speaker and how they compare. I've ordered from them before and they have been very helpful and accomodating.
Sometimes they have an item in stock that is listed as out of stock on their web site.

B&W 684's for $1100
NHT Classic 4's can be found online at discount stores for $1100
Infinity Beta 50's for around $600

bobsticks
04-23-2008, 10:15 AM