newbie about floorstand speakers [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : newbie about floorstand speakers

mike288
04-20-2008, 10:26 AM
greetings to all :smilewinkgrin:

im a newbie when it comes to home audio, i have however found a couple of vintage

speakers here @ home. These are the pioneer CS-605, and i would just like to start

by using the Dared Mp5 as the amp. Any inputs about the speakers and the amp, thanks

in advance guys :cornut:

http://i65.photobucket.com/albums/h216/mike288/csg/Pioneer_CS-605_web.jpg

specs: 150 watts max.

4 way speakers, horn, midrange, midbass, 15 inch woofer.

sensitivity: 96db 1 watt/meter

they are in excellent condition, never abused, used a marantz amp, played at

very low volume (my dad) :19: :19: :19: :19:

Dared Mp5: 13 watts x 2.

i am still planning to buy the amp.

im kinda new as mentioned and i dont want to waste my money by buying an amp

that cant drive these speakers.

thank you so much.

Mr Peabody
04-20-2008, 11:24 AM
Hi, your speakers have a sensitivity of 96 dB which is above average, this means they won't take much power to play at normal listening or to get loud. So they would be perfect for a low power tube amp.

I have not heard Dared myself but the reports I've heard weren't very favorable, for what that's worth. Some optional tube gear that's more proven in the market is Jolida, Cayin, Prima Luna and the Antique Sound Labs (ASL) seems to do pretty well, I know they have some SET amps. www.amusicdirect.com carries a budget tube line built by Cary Audio that may be worth looking into, I think it's called Audio Electronics. If you've tried the Dared and like it be sure to post something so I can have some positive input.

mike288
04-20-2008, 08:10 PM
thanks so much sir, will go back to the drawing board and analyze other reviews of the MP5.

anyone heard the Mp5?

mike288
04-22-2008, 07:35 AM
id also like to ask for some inputs regarding the pioneer 7030 cd player once again i have