Advice On A Custom System? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Advice On A Custom System?

GageAnstey
04-19-2008, 02:54 PM
OK, here's the deal.

This set of Sounds Dynamics speakers has been in my home for a while,
originally purchased by my parents as a part of a larger home stereo.
One's blown, clearly, the tweeters have their cones punched in,
and they're in generally hard shape (they need to be repainted, sanded and stained, etc.).
I was going to make a project out of it, seeing has I've been planning on replacing my current 100 Watt Aiwa piece of crap anyways.
I'd have to clean up the boxes and replace the woofers and tweeters with one's from an online source, giving it an output power of close to 400 Watts and hopefully have myself a neat little system (they only measure roughly 2.5 feet by 1.25).

http://img205.imageshack.us/img205/4518/dscf0486gr8.jpg

I'd have to spend at least $200.00 not counting a receiver. Is this feasible? I'm no expert on these things and don't want to spend a load of cash and get nothing out of it.

Thanks for any help,
Gage

JohnMichael
04-19-2008, 04:39 PM
Welcome to AudioReview. Looks like you need to repalce the surrounds on the woofers. Check www.madisounds.com for surround repalcement kits. The cones should still move even though the surrounds are shot. If the cones do not move at low volumes than they are blown and need replaced. If the cones move repalcing the surrounds is fairly inexpensive compared to new drivers. The pushed in dust caps on the woofers will not effect the sound. The resolution is not good enough that I can see if the tweeter domes are damaged. When you have the speakers hooked up listen to hear if the tweeters are working.

New veneer is also available to cover the speakers. Many speakers originally had vinyl covering over mdf particle board and you may have trouble refinishing the cabinets if the veneer or vinyl is damaged. Better to replace it.

GageAnstey
04-19-2008, 05:01 PM