A connection question [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : A connection question

jchloupek@yahoo.com
04-18-2008, 04:33 AM
Hello everyone, I am new to AudioReview, so pardon me if this is not the proper forum for this question. I have purchased a Yamaha RX-797 receiver and will be using an Aphex 204 Aural Exciter & Big Bottom processor instead of a graphic equalizer I've been using with my old receiver. My question is how precisely to hookup the Aphex 204 to the RX-797 so as to "process" the sound coming from either the receiver's radio stations or a CD player, depending on function in use at the time. Since the 204 has an "in/out" for both the exciter and big bottom I'm somewhat flummoxed as to how to properly cable-to-cable from each device-what specific cables and/or adaptors do I need? A forum member named "Fingerprick" mentioned owning the RX-797 and Aphex 204 and successfully using both to create excellent sounds so I know it can be done. Assume my ignorance when making any suggestions on this subject-I will not be offended. Thanks!
JRC

Mr Peabody
05-15-2008, 10:28 AM
The 797 has a sub out, assuming that's what the "Big Bottom" is for, run the "sub out" into the Big Bottom input and back out of the BB into your sub. The "Oral Exciter" would either have to be hooked up to a tape monitor loop or in the path of preamp ins & outs of the receiver. I couldn't see mention of preamp ins/outs on the 797 but it does have a Zone 2 output that doubles as a "record out", I'd hope there was also a "record in" for monitoring purpose, these connections should work for the Oral Exciter.

I'm not familiar with your processors but these general connections should work.

markw
05-15-2008, 11:11 AM