What to buy... [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : What to buy...

Mieir
04-17-2008, 08:58 AM
Hi Guys,

I'm new in the audio world would love your advice!

My parents are looking to upgrade their sound system. He has an old marantz (20 years or something).

Here's what he is thinking of getting:

Speakers = B&W 804s

CD player = mcintosh mcd201

Amp = mcintosh ma6900

My parents basically only listen to classical music.

From my research (as limited as it is.... google..lol), everything above seems like a good choice. I did notice though that a lot of the reveiws are a bit old (2002... etc) which might mean there could be better products in the same price range since then.

My parents got the ideas from above from some korean broker and I don't trust salesmen in general.

Any help is greatly appreciated! :thumbsup:

basite
04-17-2008, 09:10 AM
Hi, welcome to AR...

your parents made a good choice...

B&W's are really good with classical music, and the combination with Mcintosh is pretty much perfect.

I would, however, also audition other speakers, I have Thiels myself, and I can highly recommend them...

also, the MCD 201 has recently got a brother, the MCD 301, which is better than the 201, and the early MCD201 bugs are definately fixed (some versions of the 201 could suffer from transport noise...)

Mcintosh products will last forever, so be it new or old, you can't go wrong with a Mcintosh. 2002 isn't old actually, and definately not in the stereo world...

Keep them spinning,
Bert.

blackraven
04-17-2008, 09:40 AM
Thats some seriously good equipment there. I think that many people here would be envious of that system. Your parents got some great advice.

hydroman
04-17-2008, 11:10 AM
I agree - good system!

Florian
04-17-2008, 11:13 AM
Good simple system, limited in resolution and a bit soft and colored which most people find quite pleasing. The B&W is small too and quite pretty. Your electronic choice is ok too, solid stuff.

Cheers