Speaker for mp3 player [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Speaker for mp3 player

zggame
04-09-2008, 10:00 PM
I am very new for audio, so please forgive me if I say something stupid.

My wife has an ipod and I have a sandisk e280. So I cannot go for the dock. Currently I am playing them with a 3.5mm-RCA cable in a $100 Phillips shelf system's "AUX". I am thinking to get a better sound (I mostly listen classical). I am a graduate student living in an apartment, which is pretty sound-inproof. So I do not need a super loud one. And my budget is less $200 (I know it is small, but that is what I have for this.)

I guess I have to use the headphone jack because I want to use both players. So is the 3.5mm-RCA the only way. There seems two options for me.

1. A receiver +2 shelf speakers ($100+100)
2. A all-in-one PC speaker system. ($100-$150)

Which one will serve me better? And any recommend model? Thanks.

bubbagump
04-10-2008, 02:47 AM
If I've learned anything over the years, it's patience when buying audio gear. In other words, resist the temptation to buy something now with 200 or wait a little longer and buy something you'll be happy with for years for a few more bucks. That said, here's what I'd look at at the 200 price point, new product only.

AudioEngine A2 self powered speakers. They list for 200 and are the little brother to the amazing A5's. They use the same tweeter as the A5 but smaller woofer. I haven't listened the the A2's but they're supposed to be very similar to the A5's with a little less room filling capability.

Logitech Z2300. I have the previous Z2200 which continue to amaze me in terms of output and clean sound. For the price, the most bang for the buck in any speaker I've owned. They don't have the 'breath' that the best speakers do but for the price, you can't go wrong.