$500 budget what do you recommend? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : $500 budget what do you recommend?

jangalang32
04-08-2008, 02:40 PM
big time noob here. i just bought a receiver and sub for what i think was a great deal. i payed $225 total for a yamaha rx-v1700 receiver and a speakercraft bx-12 woofer. they were slightly used but overall almost new. what do you think about the purchase?

where i need help is on the speakers. i just want the two front and center speakers right now and will worry about the rear when i get my theater us and going. i would like to stay around $500 for the 3 speakers. what do you guys recommend? let m

this is my 1st post. just found this website. thanks for all the replies!

blackraven
04-08-2008, 03:47 PM
Here are a few suggestions. the PSB Image B25's for $299pr and their center for $219 or the PSB AlphaB1's for $279pr and the C1 center for $189. These are sale prices.
The PSB Image 25's would be my first choice over the Alpha B1's. They are a larger speaker than the Alpha B1's and you could probably get away with using the cheaper Alpha C1 center along with the Image 25's. www.saturdayaudio.com

Also look at the MONITOR AUDIO B2's and and the Bronze center. These are very good speakers for the money. I just bought a pair of the S1's for my bedroom.
www.saturdayaudio.com has the the B2's onsale now for $279pr down from $399 and the Bronze center for $179 down from $249. These would be my NUMBER 1 CHOICE, with the PSB's second. The B2's are a larger bookshelf and will have a bigger sound. I received my speakers in 3 days from saturday audio.

Both the PSB's and Monitor Audios have gotten excellent reviews in the past.

Other choices are-