your pick [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : your pick

Lege
03-05-2004, 01:10 PM
I am new to the audio scene, and I simply love great sounding speakers for music and home theater- on a budget.
Where does everyone stand on the following, and yes I realize everyone likes what they like. I am choosing between the following-
-Axiom M2i's
-Ascend Acoustics cmb-170
-Epos ELS-3
-Triangle Titus 202's

I've heard them all. They are all really great speakers in the price range. Obviously the Triangle's are higher than the others, but do they outclass the field?
I also thought the Axiom's where great speakers, but a lot of the comments in these threads have thought they were lower-tier speakers?
Any help?
Thanks

46minaudio
03-05-2004, 02:59 PM
Lege out of all of them what was the pair you like best...??

Woochifer
03-05-2004, 06:08 PM
Who cares if someone else calls a particular model a lower-tier speaker? You've heard what you heard, now just go with what you like best. All too often in audio, perceptions are shaped by outside influences and preconceived biases. If something's expensive, it MUST sound better than something that costs less; if a component's using exotic cable, then it MUST sound better than something that uses bulk wiring; if a speaker features _______ (insert "patented" trademarked buzzword here), then it MUST sound better than something that doesn't use a similar exotic feature; a panel speaker MUST sound better than a box speaker for this reason and that reason, etc.