Help equalizing sound levels on commercials [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Help equalizing sound levels on commercials

traugh
02-22-2008, 09:16 AM
I am new to this home theater thing and have discovered an irritating problem.
I have the Onkyo SR705 receiver and have found that my HD broadcasts thru my
cable box deliver a substantial increas in the volume levels of sound during the commercials. Is there something in my receiver that I can set to equalize the sound
volumes between the regular shows and the commercials?

If not on the receiver, is there anything that can be added to my system that would do this?

I really appreciate this forum as a resource, you folks have been a great source of advice.

L.J.
02-22-2008, 09:56 AM
Kinda off topic.....but how do you like your 705?

Are you having any sync issues when viewing HD channels using your 705 for sound?

markw
02-22-2008, 10:03 AM
cable box deliver a substantial increas in the volume levels of sound during the commercials. Is there something in my receiver that I can set to equalize the sound

If not on the receiver, is there anything that can be added to my system that would do this?

I really appreciate this forum as a resource, you folks have been a great source of advice.It's just one of the network's tricks to assure that their commecials are heard. It sucks, but it's legal to "compress" the sound so it all comes out at one level. No soft sounds, no loud sounds, just all at the same level and it appears to be louder than the programs.

traugh
02-22-2008, 10:27 AM
Kinda off topic.....but how do you like your 705?

Are you having any sync issues when viewing HD channels using your 705 for sound?

I have had it a about 6 weeks now and have only noticed a slight syncing issue