New gear/new poster [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : New gear/new poster

tony_abreu
02-07-2008, 01:04 PM
Hi Folks,
I'm a newbie here, and I find very interesting the comments and discussions posted on these boards. I just purchased a pair of B&W 704, a Velodyne SPL 1000 Sub, a Denon AVR2808CI and, a Rotel RB-1070. I know that in the future I will have to upgrade my center channel and my rear channel. I was wondering any recomendation for the rear and center channel, I have been reading a lot of negative comments about the B&W HTM7, and would like to know what other option should I explore. I use the system 60% DVD (music and movies) and 40% Music.
Your input will be greatly appreciated.
Regards,
Tony

basite
02-07-2008, 02:10 PM
Well, since you own 704's as mains, I'd recommend the HTM7 actually...

voice matching is very important in home theatre. The HTM7 is the only speaker that will have the same sonic signature as the 704's, so it would make a perfect match...

tony_abreu
02-07-2008, 02:32 PM
Basite,
Thanks for your quick response.

Regards,

topspeed
02-07-2008, 03:32 PM
Like Basite mentioned, you really don't have much of a choice. It is imperative in any HT application that the front stage is a tonal match, otherwise as audio pans from side to side, you'll notice the difference and ruin the experience.

I'm interested in where your read a bad review for the HTM7? I'm not saying it doesn't exist, just curious that's all. B&W has gone to great lengths to make sure the center channel blends perfectly with the mains, one of the reasons why the tweeter is still mounted on top versus in the more popular (and space saving) D'Appolito array. The HTM7's array allows a dispersion pattern consistent with the mains ensuring proper coherence. As it is, finding a space large enough to put that puppy is quite the challenge. Trust me, I have first hand experience.

Rich-n-Texas
02-07-2008, 05:02 PM