Need help or advice on home theatr set up... [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Need help or advice on home theatr set up...

Movie Fan
02-07-2008, 04:14 AM
Hello All...
I'm new to this post and would like some help with hooking up my theatre system correctly. I have all my gear but still need to hook it up. Here'a a list of the equiptment followed by a question....

Samsung 61 inch LED Slim HD-TV
Yamaha RX-V661 A/V Reciever
7 Yamaha 120 watt 3-way in-ceiling speakers
Yamaha 225 YST Sub
Direct TV-HD Reciever (not DVR)
Samsung HD-DVD Player
Dinky Link
Harmony 890 Remote

My Question is......I would like to hook up my Direct TV reciever and my DVD Player directly to my Yamaha Reciever with just HDMI cables. Then connect one HD:6: MI cable from my Yamaha Reciever to my TV. I bleive this is possible but I have read other posts on other sites and people are saying that they are having problems with video or sound.
The guys at the "Big Box Store (BB) told me that I have to run Optical cables from my Direct TV reciever and my DVD Player to my Yamaha Reciever for sound and then an HDMI cable from Direct TV and DVD Player directly to my TV??? This doen't sound right!!
Does anyone else have this equiptment or know enough about them to clear this up?
I understand that some people are running S_Video cable from there Yamaha recievers to the TV because of not geting on-screen displays.........but shouldn't the Dinky Link and Harmony Remote take care of that??

I appriciate any help you guys could give me!!!
Thanks!!

ralphietweets
02-07-2008, 10:18 PM
With that receiver you can use the hdmi in-puts and then go one hdmi out to the tv which will give you video switching through the receiver. However, if you hook a component into the back of the receiver using component cables you will then need to run a componenet cable up to the tv as well. This is not true with all receivers but on that particular model it is.