Anyone familiar with this brand? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Anyone familiar with this brand?

johnny p
01-30-2008, 01:41 PM
It may be wildly popular, or hated, but I have no experience with it...... got a chance to listen to one, and it sounded pretty good, and it's asthetically pleasing enough for the wife to give the approval to finally dump my C.V.

http://www.buy.com/prod/kef-psw2500-dark-apple-10-inch-250-watt-powered-subwoofer/q/loc/111/204049563.html

I'm not planning on ordering it online, but I was just looking it up for a picture, and was comparing prices.

bobsticks
01-30-2008, 02:11 PM
Hey Johnny,

I'm familiar with the the brand, though not the item. KEF is an old English company that enjoys a very good rep across the pond. Despite having moved alot of production to China (who hasn't) they've been good at maintaining quality control. I use the Q7 floorstanders in a secondary system and though I've had many opportunities to change them I'm sticking with 'em for now.

I have no experience with their subs but it doesn't surprise me that you like them. Evidently this is a case of quality carrying across an entire line. I would, however, suggest maybe checking out 12 inch subs. Given that you're a movie buff it's been my experience that unless your room is pretty small a 12 will give you better extension and sound effects.

Congrats on all the new toys.

topspeed
01-30-2008, 02:17 PM
KEF is a British company that has been very well respected for a looooong time. They are best known for for their coincident source (i.e. co-axial) tweeter/midrange drivers, kind of like B&W and kevlar. It's been a few years since I heard one of their floorstanders, but I remember it being typically British in sound and having very good build quality. Not Quad or B&W good, but very good nonetheless.

I've never heard that sub, but you don't need to worry about the company.