Boston bookshelf speakers [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Boston bookshelf speakers

omikey
03-03-2004, 08:40 AM
Newbie here :-)
I'm in the market for HT equipment and need some opinons on some bookshelf speakers ..... I have to replace my floor speakers (Pincale - Classic Gold Tower) (new house - the room arrangement doesn't allow for the floor towers).
I am considering the Boston VR-MX series ...... what's the consenses on these speakers, what others might I consider that would have a comprative frequency response and crossover.......
Thanks for your inputs !
Mikey

JSE
03-03-2004, 09:12 AM
Man, it's a shame you have to lose those Pinnacles. I listend to them a while back and they were nice.

I own Boston towers but I have never been much of a fan in regard to their Bookshelf speakers. The VR-MX series are definitely their best Bookshelf but I think you could do better with B&W, Dynaudio, Energy, PSB, or even Paradigm. I am also in the marker for some Bookshelf speakers. However, I am specifically looking for good low end. The B&W 602S3 is a very nice speaker. Might checked it out.

You will need to give us the usual info for more specific help. Budget, Roomsize, HT Vs. Music, style of music, etc.

JSE

omikey
03-03-2004, 09:47 AM
Man, it's a shame you have to lose those Pinnacles. I listend to them a while back and they were nice.

I own Boston towers but I have never been much of a fan in regard to their Bookshelf speakers. The VR-MX series are definitely their best Bookshelf but I think you could do better with B&W, Dynaudio, Energy, PSB, or even Paradigm. I am also in the marker for some Bookshelf speakers. However, I am specifically looking for good low end. The B&W 602S3 is a very nice speaker. Might checked it out.

You will need to give us the usual info for more specific help. Budget, Roomsize, HT Vs. Music, style of music, etc.

JSE