Is this a good deal on vintage Sansui gear? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Is this a good deal on vintage Sansui gear?

eqmassa
01-10-2008, 04:41 PM
My neighbor offered me a Sansui QRX-3500 receiver, 2 Sansui SP2500A speakers, and a Sansui SR-717 direct drive turntable for $225. All in mint conditions with manuals and cables.

Looking on ebay and such, it seems like this is a decent deal since mint gear like this would normally go for $300+. I’m somewhat concerned about longevity and durability… but any advice at all would be greatly appreciated, as I’m an audio novice.

Luvin Da Blues
01-10-2008, 04:52 PM
Not familiar with those models but, Sansui's are built like tanks. I have a AU6900 that still looks and sounds like new. I don't use it but won't part with it either.

Cheers and welcome to the site.

bobsticks
01-10-2008, 05:06 PM
My neighbor offered me a Sansui QRX-3500 receiver, 2 Sansui SP2500A speakers, and a Sansui SR-717 direct drive turntable for $225. All in mint conditions with manuals and cables.

Looking on ebay and such, it seems like this is a decent deal since mint gear like this would normally go for $300+. I’m somewhat concerned about longevity and durability… but any advice at all would be greatly appreciated, as I’m an audio novice.

I would ask for a demo, I mean after all all ya gotta do is walk across the lawn. In any case, if it's all set-up you can get an idea of the true condition of the gear. You can also guage whether that Sansui vintage sound is for you.

Most likely your neighbor is upgrading to a new, more modern system with all the bells and whistles. There are a lot of good deals to be found on vintage equipment due to just this circumstance.

Mr Peabody
01-10-2008, 05:30 PM
A complete system for $225.00 isn't bad and it sounds like it was well taken care of. There are probably better prices but you don't know what you are getting. Plus you have the manual so you know how much power etc.