Looking at spending £800. What speakers should I get [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Looking at spending £800. What speakers should I get

veej
01-07-2008, 07:43 AM
Hi all.

Newbie here.

I have about £800 to spend and I'm looking at getting some nice speakers to give me a nice 5.1 or similar effects.

I was looking at Bose, but reading the posts here it sounds like I should look at alternatives.

Could you please advise.

Also, Should I be getting an AMP to connect the speakers to via TV DVD player etc, or should I be looking at something more integrated.

I look forward to your replies.

johnny p
01-07-2008, 09:12 AM
are you dead set on getting 5.1 immediately, or would you consider a receiver, and fronts/center to start, and connect sub and surrounds later? What do you have now? (T.V. DVD. receiver, any speakers, etc)

blackraven
01-07-2008, 04:04 PM
B&W 686's and a nice sub! Stay away from bose unless you just are in the mood to give your money away.

O'Shag
01-07-2008, 06:46 PM
Hi Veej,