New Receiver? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : New Receiver?

johnny p
01-06-2008, 07:52 AM
I know my b&w's are power hungry, so would a Marantz 7001 be enough, or 8001? or should I look even bigger? Funds are tight, so I don't want to break the bank, but accessories4less has these at a reasonable deal.

thanks,

blackraven
01-06-2008, 04:00 PM
I'm no expert on marantz receivers, but I would think that 110-125wpc would be fine.

hydroman
01-07-2008, 12:08 PM
If you like the current features - why not just buy an amp to run the mains?
(Using pre-outs from the current reciever (assuming it has them (probably a good assumption()))).

johnny p
01-07-2008, 01:15 PM
I must admit that I have very little audio knowledge, and don't know the first thing about setting up a separate amp....... how do I control the audio levels for my different speakers (if I only get a 2 channel amp for instance) to still get 5.1 surround? Will a quality amp increase my sound quality through my basic receiver? How much do amps run? I may be better off with a new receiver....

sorry for the jr. level questions.

blackraven
01-07-2008, 01:47 PM
Check out www.outlawaudio.com for some nice affordable quality multichannel amps that are in your price range.

johnny p
01-07-2008, 03:00 PM