Need Speaker Suggestions [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Need Speaker Suggestions

bvbomber
01-04-2008, 08:16 PM
I am new to home theaters and I just received a Marantz SR6001 AV Reveiver for my birthday. I have a nice HDTV and want to not avoid doing this AVR and injustice by not providing it nice speakers to work with.

The speakers, which I have had since 1991, are Advent prodigy towers. Though these are nice speakers, I need suggestions on whether or not I should simply add more speakers to complete the 7.1 surround sound or if I should just purchase a match set.

First of all, let me tell you about the size of my home theater.
The room is 13'x30' with the TV at one end and a kitchen at the other end. I would like to mount the rear and side speekers up high, possibly in the cealing.

My budget is about $400 but I may be able to sqeeze out a bit more if the general feedback suggests it to get a great sound.

I love watching movies and have never owned a surround sound system. I also like playing my wii so whatever you can say about that would also be helpful.

Thanks in advance.

blackraven
01-04-2008, 09:22 PM
For now with a $400 budget, I would just go with front channel speakers a very good center channel and a decent sub like the Mirage S8 and forget about rear channel until you have more money. I dont run rear channels and I dont feel I'm missing too much. I had a pair of 600 series B&W's as rear channels and returned them.

A matched set will give you matching sound. You have to ask yourself, what is more important- HT sound or 2ch music. If its music stick with what you already have.

johnny p
01-05-2008, 09:32 PM