Need help with upgrade ideas [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Need help with upgrade ideas

Bigmoney
01-03-2008, 08:20 AM
As many of you once were, I am an entering the realm of high quality audio reproduction. I am begginging to piece together a system and based on my equipment what would be my most cost-effective upgrade, I have adequate knowledge of audio/acoustics/ placement etc. but when it comes to tweaks/ powere conditioning/ amplification I am a novice. Please help me.

Bigmoney
01-03-2008, 08:22 AM
I am using b and w 602 s3 as my mains, dm 303 as my rear, denon 2801 as my receiver, marantz 4001 dcd/cd player, monster reference z2 speaker cables, crystal acoustics 12 inch sub, and a 11.75, 14.75, 8 foot room.

basite
01-03-2008, 08:51 AM
you might wanna post this (or move this) thread in the 'General Audio' board. there will be more replies there I think...

any things you don't like about your system? or you think that definately have to be improved?

I wouldn't worry too much about power conditioning unless you live in a big flat, with cellphone poles around the place and such...
not that it doesn't make an improvement, but there are upgrades that give more...

Keep them spinning,
Bert.

bobsticks
01-03-2008, 08:58 AM
Hey Bigmoney,

First and foremost, welcome to the forums. When looking at improvements, and all of us could find some, it's first helpful to ask a few questions to diagnos what it is that you feel needs improvement? How far apart from each other and how far apart from the walls are your speakers? Have you employed any treatments on the walls or in the room?
There may be some things you can do to optimize your setup that won't cost anything at all.