CD Carousel vs. DVD/CD Carousel "Help" [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : CD Carousel vs. DVD/CD Carousel "Help"

bjbwtt44
12-08-2007, 06:40 PM
I've been enjoying music for the past 15 years on my Denon dvr-1800 & Kenwood Carousel Cd player. The Kenwood has died. Why are the DVD/CD players not popular anymore, example Denon DVD-1845. From what I'm hearing the DVD's play great and the CD's play average at best? My wife and I listen to a lot of music and would just like a simple solution to listening to random CD music and if it plays movies, great. Suggestions?

johnny p
12-09-2007, 09:03 AM
If you enjoy music, to that extent, I'd get a dedicated CD player, designed to get the most out of your 2 channel listening. I am far from the audiophile, so I just play CDs from a 400 disc. player, and what doesn't fit in that, gets popped into the DVD player for a listen. The quality from the DVD player I have is actually better than that of the CD player, but that's what I get for a low-end CD player that's a few years old. I've always steered clear of the 5 disc carousels, just because I've never seen the benefit from 5 discs, etc. but amongst the 400 discs that currently reside in my player, I can count the number of artists on two hands, so It's a bit of a different circumstance I guess, because "random/shuffle" doesn't pull up any surprises!

I'd run Optical from a DVD player, and listen to music through that, but if you've invested a great deal in your speakers, etc. then go with a dedicated CD player.

good luck!

PDN
12-09-2007, 07:10 PM