Bass Mangaement [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Bass Mangaement

tomvr975
12-07-2007, 09:13 AM
:) Hello, I am a newbie to this forum and wanted to get a few opinions on the subject of bass management for home theater. I use a pair of Boston Acoustics VR975 tower speakers that have built-in powered subwoofers as the front channels which are fed by Yamaha RX-Z9 AV Receiver. The set-up menu has the option of outputing low frequencies to the subwoofer only or to "both" which outputs the lows to both the low frequency driver and the subwoofer. If any of you have front speakers that have built-in powered subs, would like to have a few comments on how you set-up bass management and what crossover frequency are you using.

Thanks, Tom

GMichael
12-07-2007, 10:40 AM
Hi,
Welcome to AR.

I output to both. My towers have built in amps for the woofers so I want to make use of that for 2 channel music. Their resistance goes up as you get below 80htz so it doesn't put much strain on my receiver. Have you looked at your towers' resistance curves? As long as yours do the same, I would go both.

tomvr975
12-07-2007, 11:51 AM
Thanks for the reply. I don't know what the resistance curve is for the Boston 975's and there is no mention of it in the manual. They are rated at 8 ohms.

kexodusc
12-07-2007, 12:18 PM
This is yet another one of those "it depends" scenarios.

I built a set of powered-towers for an individual last year (geez, maybe it was 2 years ago now?). We definitely set the speaker portion to small for a few good reasons.