Receiver advice? Same question different set-up [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Receiver advice? Same question different set-up

K-yle_style
11-29-2007, 10:18 AM
I have the following equipment:

Samsung LN-T4669FX - 46" 1080p LCD HDTV
Toshiba HD-A35 - HD DVD Player - 1080p
Klipsch Reference Series Speakers
Xbox 360 Premium - component
Pioneer Elite Receiver VSX-21 - Being replaced

I am in need of a new receiver and so far these are the things that I have researched so that I can get the most out of my equipment.

- 3-4 1.3a HDMI Inputs/ 1 output
- Deep color capability, as my TV can accept it
- 1080p upconversion
- Dolby True HD
- CEC: Consumer Electronic Control / Smart HDMI

I would like to keep it under $1000 via internet pricing, not store prices. I have come across a couple receivers I thought would have everything I need, but I'm asking on here because I'm not an expert.

Denon AVR-3808CI
Pioneer Elite VSX-94/2TXH
Onkyo TXSR705S
Yamaha RX-V1800

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

L.J.
11-29-2007, 12:02 PM
Wow, that's a tough choice of units to choose from. All good choices and really hard to go wrong either way. Not sure if the Denon or Elites can be found for under 1K. Yammie really didn't offer much over last year models except for HD audio decoding. I'd take a look at the 805 over 705. The 805 is a beast and I think Onkyo is offering the most bang for the buck right now. You should be able to find the 805 at Circuit City for about $800-900.

I'm curious, why are you replacing your current AVR?

K-yle_style
11-29-2007, 12:07 PM
Thanks for the advice. About Onkyo, I heard that they might not be the best on the video side of things. I am replacing my current AVR because it's out dated and won't let me achieve optimal performance out of my tv, dvd player, and xbox 360.

L.J.
11-29-2007, 12:50 PM