Closed box sub designs [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Closed box sub designs

audio amateur
11-15-2007, 01:24 PM
-The closed-box or "acoustic suspension" enclosure, rather than using a large enclosure to avoid the effects of internal air pressure changes caused by cone motion, uses a smaller sealed enclosure, generally much smaller. The enclosure must have a very small leak so internal and external pressures can slowly equalise over time, allowing the speaker to adjust to changes in barometric pressure or altitude.- taken from Wikipedia

'The enclosure must have a very small leak so internal and external pressures can slowly equalise over time, allowing the speaker to adjust to changes in barometric pressure or altitude'

Is this true? Do sealed designs need a small hole or 'leak'?
cheers

Luvin Da Blues
11-15-2007, 06:43 PM
I'm far from an expert but I would guess that the flexibility in the foam or rubber surround would that care of any pressure differences...law of equilibrium. There would be small stresses in the surrounds but I think it would be negligible.

Feanor
11-15-2007, 07:39 PM
I'm far from an expert but I would guess that the flexibility in the foam or rubber surround would that care of any pressure differences...law of equilibrium. There would be small stresses in the surrounds but I think it would be negligible.

I've never heard that any specific provision is need to allow internal/external air pressure equalization.

kexodusc
11-16-2007, 06:40 AM
Hmmm, good question, never thought of that before.
There's always some leaks - I'm not aware of any air-tight, spaceworthy subs or speakers, but they are tiny, and insignificant, to the point they won't register in measurements.