Please Help With Denon [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Please Help With Denon

dada
10-31-2007, 11:10 PM
I have a denon avr 1907,denon dvd 1930ci,acurus 200x3, svs pb12 plus, jbl L7 l+r, and a pinnacle bd 300 center. The 1907 didnt seem to have enough power,i was pushing it really hard to get the performance i wanted,so i bought the acurus 200x3 thinking my volume nob at -20 wouled surfice. This set up is strictly HT,and i only watch dvds.Im runing tara labs rcas out of the dvd player into the avr,hdmi into the tv, and the pre outs to the sub and acurus.My problem is im new to ht,i dont understand witch settings on the avr i shouled be using,EX dts neo, neutral surround,ect.And why it seems i have no more power sience adding the powerfl acuus amp.Is my system hooked up carrectly? shouled i be using the pre outs on my dvd { 5.1outs l r c sw }? im running everything large,+7 on L+R,+10 on the c, + 3 on the sw.Any suggestions wouled be greatly appreciated, thank you dada.:nonod:

musicman1999
11-01-2007, 06:08 AM
First thing that catches my eye is you say the dvd player is hooked up with rcas, do you mean you are using l/r outputs or are you using the coax digital output?
Also how large is your room, do you have a sound meter and just how loud do you want to go?

bill

bfalls
11-01-2007, 06:27 AM
There's one comment I don't understand about your post. If your set-up "is strictly HT" you'll need the digital output (coax or optical) connected between the DVD and receiver. All Dolby Digital and DTS formats require a digital signal. You will still get "surround" with the analog outputs, but it will be a "derived" or matrixed surround, such as Dolby Pro Logic, Dolby Pro Logic II, and I believe the Neo is derived as well. Do not use the 5.1 outputs from the DVD player, they're for SACD playback.