Boston Acoustics? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Boston Acoustics?

tullymars
02-27-2004, 02:40 PM
A question for the audiophiles,what do you think of Boston Acoustic,I have my first pair...vr 950 lynnfields,so far very satisfied.I like em over any Polk Audio that I have owned so far,Ive been using Polk since 1983 or so,with the exception of one pair of Infinity,just wondering the general reputation of BA"s.Got my new for 1/2 price too!

Woochifer
02-27-2004, 03:29 PM
Strange that they have such a low profile because I've always liked the Bostons. I think part of it is because they made a fairly radical change to their design philosophy about 10 years ago, which put off a lot of their long time customers. Before that change, they designed acoustic suspension speakers with polydome tweeters and an adherence to a balanced and tight sound. Their signature sound was the heir apparent to the classic "New England" sound of AR, Advent, and KLH, among others, and it won a fairly large following in the 80s.

The Lynnfield was a big change for them because with that design, they simultaneously went to a ported cabinet and a metal dome tweeter, which increased the efficiency and gave it an edgier and more aggressive sound. Those first Lynnfields sounded very different from Boston's previous speakers, and it seems that since then they've been trying to tame their successive releases and reign in the rough edges. Overall, I like them, but other companies seem to have passed them by in recent years.

Also, it seems that Boston has focused more on their car audio and multimedia lines.

Jimmy C
02-27-2004, 05:04 PM
...with his assessments. They certainly don't have the allure they once did, but I feel their speakers are at least competitive now, pricing considered.