Technics Semi-Automatic Belt Drive Turntable [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Technics Semi-Automatic Belt Drive Turntable

nealt128
10-02-2007, 01:47 PM
I'm new to turntables and the forum. I've been looking around for a TT and came across this (http://www.walmart.com/catalog/product.do?product_id=5231059#Accessories+to+Buy). This TT is definitely in my price range but is it worth spending my money on at all?

pixelthis
10-02-2007, 11:58 PM
I'm new to turntables and the forum. I've been looking around for a TT and came across this (http://www.walmart.com/catalog/product.do?product_id=5231059#Accessories+to+Buy). This TT is definitely in my price range but is it worth spending my money on at all?

Your url is down right now, but heres a few facts.
Technics is made by PANASONIC.
I have two of their turntables, one belt and one direct drive, both made in the late eighties,
both still work great.
Technics used to be panasonics "high end" brand in the seventies, and sold some really good stuff, then they sold out to the mass market like a lot of others, sold a bunch of mid fi stuff in the ninties.
Don't know anything about their current turntables, probably like a lot of other mass market turntables .
Might want to check out audioadvisor.com:1:

Corto Maltese
10-10-2007, 05:14 AM
My kids got Technics like that one, used, with Audio Technica cart. After playing one of their albums (Made In Japan, Deep Purple), I had to say to my girls that thing has to go. Mudding, broom, anti-scatting needed adjustment, are just some of the problems.
It is better to buy nice used TT, and you could be there for pleasant surprise. Don't use e-bay, way too many "deals gone bad". Use legit HiFi classifieds sites, or even forums like this one. Also, try to avoid shipping. Pick it up yourself - road trip is what everebody needs from time to time.
http://www.canuckaudiomart.com/
They are also good.