Surprising find Omni Audio 12.3 [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Surprising find Omni Audio 12.3

PreferVintage
09-10-2007, 03:07 PM
I'm new to AudioReview but not to audio. I'm 51 and when I moved to Virginia at 17 in 1974 I met a neighbor near my age (with money) and heard his Pioneer SA-9100 through his home-made speakers with 18" wooofers I was blown away! He also had a Revox A77. He knew nothing then about speaker design. Later we together built him a pair of Altec Lansing "Voice of the Theatre" speakers. He was much happier.
Anyway, I had caught the HiFi bug. I decided to do research (how did we do that in 1975?) and chose to build a Dynaco PAT-5 pre-amp and a pair of Southwest Technical Products Tiger 01 60 watt mono power amps from kits. Used them for many years with a pair of Dynaco A-25 speakers and a B I C 940 turntable. I still have the speakers although I recently had to replace their tired drivers and chose Polk Eosone 10' woofers and 3/4" tweeters. They don't sound that great. I was hopeful, but something needs to be done.........More than I wanted to mess with.
In this room (the office/library/museum) I have another Dyanco PAT-5 (to replace the deceased original), FM-5 tuner, Stereo 400 amp (200 wpc), and a few other toys. In the living room I have Mitsubishi Dual mono equipment from the late 1970's with 300 watts total through RS Optimus Pro 4000 speakers. Phenomenal sound! A few other toys attached. All but the speakers plus what's in here are via ebay. There are also two surround sound systems in the house. To say great sound is important to us is, well true!
Now to my thread title.