i like Bose, don't shoot me ! [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : i like Bose, don't shoot me !

drwatson
09-03-2007, 12:13 PM
Hi, everyone, newbie here. Longtime lurker, first time poster. I haven't really wanted to post here because everyone seems to hate Bose, and I actually like them. Hopefully people won't bash me for having an opinion.

I'd like to share my experience, I just want to voice an opinion from the other side of the fence.

Let me give you some background, I am not an audiophile - i just love audio equipment and have used a wide variety of stuff over the years. Years ago (about 12 years or so) when I was a teenager I worked at Sears and I was first introduced to Bose speakers. We got a pair of AM-(I think 5s) in and we installed them in our display (we didn't have any kind of sound room or anything back then). I had no clue what Bose speakers were, we didn't have any reps from Bose talk to us, and no one forced us to do any kind of marketing. Over the following few weeks we played with these speakers quite a bit (it was a boring job, but we loved messing with the audio equipment). I really fell in love with the Bose 'sound', it was crisp, warm, natural to my ears. After work when Sears was closing we also liked to 'crank' stuff up to the max, sometimes even trying to blow stuff just messing around (stupid kids I suppose). I can tell you in all honesty that those little speakers could handle some amazing power without distorting - we used to push Sony and Pioneer recievers to the max on those things and they would play loud and clean. The sub was also quite remarkable to me, two 5 1/4 speakers could rattle the wall hard enough that people on the second floor of Sears right above would call down to complain. Now I couldn't afford Bose speakers back then on a Sears salary, going to school, and paying car insurance so I never did purchase them.