my mesa baron needs tubes but which ones ? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : my mesa baron needs tubes but which ones ?

alexthegreat
08-12-2007, 02:53 PM
hi every one im new at this so be gentle I have a mesa baron amp which is an awsome amp and after only 11 years I finally need to replace the tubes. they have to perfectly matched in every way I dont know much about tube audio just that it sound so much better to me than any solidstate, I hope I dont offend anyone with that statment. from what I understand the plate voltage has to be considered and I cant find anything about what the plate voltage should be and there is another thing mesa labled all the tubes with a color code mine have YEL on them, whats that mean? so as you can see I have a major probalm here. can any one help I do know the tubes in the amp are sovtek 5881 but everything I have read about the sovtek tubes arent so good so again I say any help would be great anyone can send me an email if you like to alexthegreatm62@hotmail.com

jrhymeammo
08-12-2007, 03:27 PM
If you need perfectly matched pair of sextets then I would call Kevin at UpScaleAudio. He should be able to get you a matching set. Doesnt look like you have much options, but Tung-Sol should offer better sound than Sovtek. Not sure how your Duncan is designed, but nornally KT-66 or 6L6GC cannot be substituted for others including 5881. It's not adsolutely neccesary to match all 12 power tubes. Just be sure to match all 6 tubes per side. Other sites offer a matching pair of Tung-Sol for less than $30, but I doubt they'll get you a pair of matching sextet. UpScaleAudio has them for $26 but I think they are priced per tube.

I would call him regardless and see what he can advise.