Introduction [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Introduction

shambles
08-06-2007, 03:03 AM
Apologies if I've got this wrong but I'm very new to the whole forum/posting thing. I couldn't find the Introductions forum so here I am. I'm principally a music lover trying to get the best listening experience I can on a mini budget. I've recently changed my kit except for the speakers, courtesy of ebay - mainly Marantz. There's so much stuff here I don't know where to start. Also much of it is right over my head technically but hopefully I'll learn enough to make the best of what I have. In particular I'm wondering whether to change my speakers. Any advice on that and whether they or something else would go better with the rest of my kit would be very welcome.:confused5:

Wireworm5
08-07-2007, 07:17 PM
When I bought one set of speakers it took a few months for me to realize something was not quite right. So my advice is if you haven't critically listened to your system, then spend a few months analyzing the sound. You may find your speakers are ok or at least you will know what you want from a speaker when you go to audition.
You don't necessarily need to replace speakers, you may want to upgrade the weak link in your audio chain first if you can determine what that is and if there is one. Only upgrade after doing some research on components and your reasonably sure it will make an improvement.
Every upgrade I made improved the sound, however there were times that I just wasn't sure. I knew the weak link in my system but wasn't sure my purchase would solve the problem 'til I got it home and hooked up.

Analyzing and making what could be expensive mistakes is all part of the fun of being an audiophile. How your system turns out verifies whether or not you have good analysis and decision making abilites. Enjoy it and learn from your experieces as you go. Good Luck.

patchlips
04-30-2008, 07:37 PM
hi i am new. quite a few hoops to jump through