spicing up the "headphone sound" [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : spicing up the "headphone sound"

phzr
06-21-2007, 08:24 PM
Im an independent music producer, and im looking into getting a pair of the sennheiser hd650's. I've heard good things, but have also become confused on some of the more technical aspects of getting the headphones to reach there maximum potential. What do you guys suggest i buy with the headphones so i can get the most out of them? Keep in mind, im using these headphones to produce music. Cords, pre-amps, sound cards, etc... Also, im not much of an expert when it comes to these things so keep the technical jargon to a minimum.. or at least explain yourself =D.

Thanks, -Jared-

noddin0ff
06-22-2007, 06:13 AM
I think all you need is a headphone jack. If you have the gear to produce music you don't need anything else but the headphones.

I also think that the HD650's are overkill. You could spend half that and still have headphones that are more than adequate for a beginning music producer. The HD580’s, for example, are generally considered to be very good headphones. They are open construction. If you need to block out room noise, you might want to think about headphones that are closed construction.

But, you really need to clarify the kind of production you intend to do and how you’re going to do it. What are your needs that lead you to believe you need to get the most out of what’s already a very good set of cans (HD580). “The most” can cost a lot of money; some of that money will only purchase a tiny tiny improvement.

But, I’m rambling. I don’t know diddly about producing music.

GMichael
06-22-2007, 06:52 AM