store recommendations DC/MD--matching speakers with amp [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : store recommendations DC/MD--matching speakers with amp

gloopy
06-13-2007, 06:11 AM
Hi all

I'm new to audioreview--this is my first post. Howdy!
I'm also new to the world of decent audio equipment. I've just bought some BA CR95 speakers, and now need an amp to go with them. I bought the speakers brand-new and very cheap in a coup on ebay, but I am afraid of just buying everything without listening, so I'd like to go to a store and try out different amp options and buy one the old fashioned way. However, I don't know of any good audio stores in my area; online searches have only given me listings for Best Buys and Radio Shacks and the like. Are there any readers who could recommend a good store with quality equipment and knowledgeable staff in the DC area or suburban Maryland, where they'd be patient with me and helpful with setting up different options for me to do some careful listens in the store?

Also, I'm a little confused about the general matching of speakers with amps. Different people, it seems, have wildly different opinions on how to match them in terms of their wattage--some say the amp should have double the watts of the speakers; others say they should be about the same... Any opinions? Does this matter for a home system where I probably won't be playing my music terribly loud? Are there any other technical specs I should be concerned about matching, or is it more of a subjective judgement about the quality of the sounds that a particular speaker+amp combo produces?

Thanks much.

basite
06-13-2007, 10:47 AM
hi there, and welcome to AR :)

the Boston's are quite easy to drive, so power won't be that much of a problem.
I can't recommend you any shops since I don't live in the USA, however, I could give you some tips:

0: your ears decide.