2 way vs. 3 way [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : 2 way vs. 3 way

Sansui71
06-12-2007, 01:50 PM
:confused5: I have been considering purchasing new tower speakers. I have been looking at the difference in price, between the 2 vs. 3 way's. Seems to be a little bit of a jump. Therefore I am wondering, if there is a big (noticeable) difference in the way sound is reproduced. I don't have a store where I could go and listen to any speakers. I am looking at AudioPro, and Polk. I have a 5.1 Kenwood system. Can someone help me with this predicament? :confused5:

brulaha
06-12-2007, 03:17 PM
I think the first thing people will tell you here is that you should listen before buying. I'm no expert, but i believe a three way system is inherently more complex, and will tend to cost more (all other things being equal) due to the complexity. However, just because it's more complex (e.g. adding an extra variable like a second crossover) doesn't make it better. It's the implementation that counts the most.

markw
06-12-2007, 04:25 PM
Simply having three speakers doesn't necessarially make a better speaker, particularly when comparing two systems, one of each design, that are around the same price.

There are both excellent and horrible examples of each design but, IMHSHO, I find three way bookshelf systems to be a waste of money.

Likewise, if you're planning on using a sub I believe a well designed two way will be more than adequate.

emorphien
06-12-2007, 06:47 PM
Listen, don't worry about how many drivers it has. I auditioned bookshelf and floorstander models that were two and three way and I bought a two way pair of bookshelf speakers. It all depends on the drivers and driver implementation, more isn't necessarily better or worse when comparing a similar level of speaker.

PeruvianSkies
06-12-2007, 08:08 PM