MP3 help, I'm a newbie [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : MP3 help, I'm a newbie

Mr Peabody
05-27-2007, 03:34 PM
Well, I'm long since tired of FM and looking for a source of musical entertainment for my commute to and from work on public trans. I got really escited when I learned satelite radio had portables. After reading the reviews I found the Helix received better in the reception area. I brought one in to try and was disappointed to find I could not get consistent reception at my house, even outside. I doubt if the Stelletto would be any better. So I'm thinking of maybe jumping on the MP3 bandwagon. I know nothing of I-pods and dread the idea of moving my music from disc to pod.

Is there any difference in sound quality between Apple and other brands?
When I rip a song from my CD and want to put it on the I-pod will it automatically convert to a MP3?
What is the difference between mp3, WMA etc.?
What should I look for in a mp3 player?
I know Apple I-pods use the I-tunes software but what do some of the others use? Is one software easier than another to use? Believe me when I say I need simple.

Thanks

bubbagump
05-28-2007, 10:05 AM
Apple is by far the most well known dap (digital audio player) but they're not the only player. First decide how you will use it. Do you need a lot of capacity or will a couple hours of music do? Personally, I find the sweet spot is 4-8 GB's. I just don't need to carry around a zillion hours of music, audio books and podcasts. I've been using Rio Carbons and Forges for a couple years and couldn't be more satisfied. Unfortunately, Rio went out of business.