help!! [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : help!!

alt766
05-14-2007, 04:24 PM
Hey All-

I am currently a student of Theatre, I am taking a sound class, and my final project is having to do with some research on some home audio equitment.

I guess I pose the question of this,

Your dream system would consist of? and Why?

What makes these products better than others?

Feanor
05-14-2007, 04:44 PM
Hey All-

I am currently a student of Theatre, I am taking a sound class, and my final project is having to do with some research on some home audio equitment.

What is the connection between theatre sound and home audio? To my awareness, they are rather different.

Perhaps you should realize that around here there are a majority of people called "audiophiles", (literally "sound lovers"). Most of these people, such as me, are considered crackpots by the general population, and not unreasonably so. If you ask us what makes one product better than another, we will most often say something like, "I prefer its sound".

jrhymeammo
05-14-2007, 06:04 PM
Is it just me or Feanor just called himself an audiophile? That's pretty hign 'n mighty of you, BIll.

Your dream system would consist of?
Something I do not have.

Why? Cuz this is a hobby and not a marriage. I just wanna listen to music in different setups, cuz believe it or not every gears sound different.

I dont know. I'm just another idiot who thinks Michael Fremer is God.:idea:

JRA

emorphien
05-14-2007, 08:02 PM
just posting to admire jrh's avatar again.

Also I think you're barking up the wrong tree asking a bunch of self professing audiophile snobs about equipment if theater gear is your interest. Be better off finding a pro sound group.

Mr Peabody
05-14-2007, 08:10 PM