DACs [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : DACs

quad121
05-03-2007, 11:09 AM
I'm quite new to DACs and wondered is a DAC a good way to improve the sound from a CD Player?

Thankyou,

Regards,

Paul

Feanor
05-03-2007, 12:13 PM
I'm quite new to DACs and wondered is a DAC a good way to improve the sound from a CD Player?

Thankyou,

Regards,

Paul

It depends on the CD player and on the DAC in question. For me a DAC is a no-brainer because I want to play recordings ripped to computer, not just spin CDs.

mlsstl
05-03-2007, 02:11 PM
A good DAC can improve a CD player in many situations. Many name brand CD players have decent quality transports but just a so-so built in digital-analog converter. However, the first thing to check is to make sure your CD player has a digital output. This is most often either a single RCA jack or an optical toslink connection. If you don't have a digital out on the CDP, then an external DAC isn't going to do you any good.

You might want to see if you can borrow a loaner from a friend or get a home trial on a DAC from an audio store before jumping in with both feet. You'll want to do some comparative listening to make sure it is worth the cost and effort. (You could find that the built-in DAC is already quite good or that the rest of your system just doesn't justify the extra cost in this one area.)

As you can see, there is no one absolute answer. It depends on you, your system, and how you listen to music. Certainly worth a test run if you can try before you buy.

Mr Peabody
05-03-2007, 07:04 PM
As stated, a DAC can be a great way to upgrade your CD playback provided the DAC is better than the internal DAC your player already has.