Tonearm Balancing Problems [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Tonearm Balancing Problems

JasonDelta
04-04-2007, 05:03 PM
First off, I'll readily admit that I'm a newbie to turntables, but I'm eager to learn and get into the thick of things because I love the vinyl format. It's probably also helpful to know that I'm 21 years old, so you'll have to bear with me in regards to terminology since I'm mostly new to this (besides playing around with my dad's Pioneer direct-drive TT).

Anyway, I recently bought an Audio-Technica AT-PL120 turntable via Amazon. I've been trying to set it up, and when calibrating and balancing the tonearm, I've noticed that the tonearm will not remain steady over to the platter, but consistently swings outwardly back to the tonearm lock. It does this even with anti-skate set to 0. I have checked the leveling of the turntable, but that does not appear to be the issue. Does anyone know what might be the problem here? I'm at a loss... Maybe it needs servicing already, even though it's brand new?