What's my weakest link? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : What's my weakest link?

yyz
04-01-2007, 10:46 AM
Hi folks! I've been browsing these forums for a while now, and have found them to be very useful, and the people who contribute very informed and very passionate about their hobby. I'd like to get some opinions about my current setup, and how to possibly better it.

My system consists of a Denon DCD-815 CD deck, a Rotel RC-971 pre-amp, a Rotel RB-971 amp, and a pair of Paradigm studio 60 speakers.

I actually still enjoy this system very much and have no coplaints about the sound, but I've been using this equipment for many years now and find myself wondering if it could be even better if I looked into some more current components.

The room it is set up in is fairly large (about 10X20 feet or so), but volume is certainly not an issue. My amp has more than enough power to produce listening levels that I'm comfortable with. I'm a musician, and listen to all kinds of music from rock to jazz to classical to country...so I am much more interested in detail and authenticity of sound, as opposed to loads of extra power. I also commonly listen with headphones (Grado).

I'd really be interested in any opinions as to what single change would produce the biggest improvement in sound quality. Thanks very much in advance!

RuSsMaN
04-01-2007, 05:02 PM
There are a lot of answers, to that simple question. I take it you like the overall tonal signature of the rig? If so, have you tried tweaking it out? Cables, isolation components, maybe an external d/a for your Denon?

I would start there. If you are wanting to do a 'next level' step, I would start with looking at the source or preamp.

Cheers,
Russ

Mr Peabody
04-01-2007, 05:25 PM