Realistic Lab-440 [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Realistic Lab-440

kimjim25
03-30-2007, 05:43 PM
Hi! i'm pretty new to owning a record player but i'm trying to learn as much as i can so i don't sound like an idiot. I'm having a pretty big problem with my realistic lab-440. i bought it at Goodwill for a dirt cheap price of $10. It was originally priced at $50 but the cartridge was missing, so i made sure i could easily replace it by making some calls to friends. Now i tried actually going to Radioshack and they were so lost and confused i was totally frustrated. but then i went to guitar center and they really helped me out to realize that at this point my new purchase is a lost cause! unless i can find someone with an outershell (i think thats what you call it...) and a cartridge! Does anyone know how i can go about finding this? i tried calling radioshack's hotline and they just said sorry we dont have that part.

I've hit a dead end can anyone help?

thanks!

royphil345
03-30-2007, 11:28 PM
Welcome to Audio Review!!!

That table uses a "standard" straight-arm headshell to hold the cartridge. The headshell is held in place by a knurled set-screw which is hopefully still on your tonearm. If not, you may be able to find something that threads into the hole properly... Don't overtighten... things will break.

You can find a replacement headshell at Garage A' Records http://www.garage-a-records.com/index.php Look under "all accessories" on the left. Click on headshells. Find the Straight Arm Replacement HeadShell. The ones for the "S" shaped arms won't work...

A shot of contact cleaner that's safe for plastics into the connectors where the headshell plugs in would be a good idea, since they've been exposed to the air for awhile. Spray a little in and plug and unplug the headshell a few times.