Pioneer DV-333 DVD player and VSX-D510 receiver, any good? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Pioneer DV-333 DVD player and VSX-D510 receiver, any good?

B_R_Y
03-28-2007, 11:30 AM
As you can see, I'm new here, so please bear with me. I'm also very new to audio equipment, so any info that you guys can give me is very greatly appreciated!

I'm looking into building a small sound system for my computer at home. Nothing too fancy, but I would like it to have better sound quality then my Logitech Z2300's which I'm currently using. I'm not new to computer hardware, so anything needed on the computer side of things will be sorted out easily.
What I'm looking to do is use the optical (digital) outs from my sound card and hook it up to a home theater receiver (am I using the right terminology?). At the moment I'll just have a stereo setup, but may eventually expand to surround.
For audio outs, I have bith Coaxial / Optical S/PDIF outs.
Later in the year I plan to upgrade from integrated audio (Intel HD audio from a P5B) to a dedicated sound card (probably something from AuzenTech).

But for now its integrated audio.

I do know a little about hooking up speakers and the like. I've set up a few home theaters, but they were all from a box, so it wasn't hard at all.
But I would rather build my own sound system from good parts.

On to my question. I found the Pioneer DV-333 DVD player and Pioneer VSX-D510 amp/receiver used for $150. Is this a good deal, I can use the DVD player somewhere else or sell it, but is the amp good for a beginner sound system? It looks like it has optical ins and the like.

Any help is greatly appreciated!
Thanks in advance!

By the way, is this post even in the right place? Ya, I'm that new... :P

Rock789
03-28-2007, 02:03 PM
both for $150, doesn;t sound bad at all...
but what kind of speakers are you auditioning?

this unit has 1 optical and 1 coax digital input