Should I get floor standing fronts? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Should I get floor standing fronts?

Blacknd
03-17-2007, 07:31 PM
Hey guys,

Just to start off I'm pretty new to better end equiptment and setting up a good audio/video system. I'm building a system and what I have so far is.

Denon AVR-2807
X-box 360 w/HD-DVD Player (will upgrade to a dedicated dvd when the bluray hd-dvd war ends)
Sony DVP-CX995V 400 disc dvd player for the collection
SVS 20-39 PC-Plus sub
SVS SBS-01 5.0 surround speakers
Bluejeans cables
Logitech Harmony 880 Remote

I am soon going to 7.1 but I also listen to music as well, the system is more for home theater than music but I want to eat the cake too. My question is should I get tower speakers to replace the 2 fronts or get 2 more SBS-01 surround speakers? I want to get towers for my cd 2.0 listening but the sound that I have now is perfect for my ears for watching movies and I dont want to ruin the speaker relationship to each other by adding in fronts that wont balance well in relative sound to each other. Am I overthinking it? I have about 1200 to 2000 to spend on the fronts. Thanks for the help in advance. BTW I was looking at Axiom Millenia M80 v2 but they are 4 ohms vs my current 8 ohm setup, is it possible to add a 4 ohm speaker to the 8 ohm setup? And how good are the speakers?

Almost forgot I'm stationed in japan for another year so I wont be able to go listen first :(

blackraven
03-17-2007, 08:05 PM
Are you happy with the way your front speakers sound? If so, stick with them. Most high quality amps can handle a 4 ohm load especially if the speakers are efficient. If you were talking about Magnepans, then thats a different story. Your receiver should be rated for 6ohms if I'm not mistaken. If you were to use 4ohm speakers as surround sound then you may run into problems with overheating at loud volumes.

PeruvianSkies
03-17-2007, 08:18 PM