How can I get the most bang for the buck.... [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : How can I get the most bang for the buck....

mover76
03-13-2007, 06:46 PM
Hello,
I would like to start by saying how helpful everyone in this forum is. I have read many post that are similar to my question, but with so many choices in equipment it is hard to find the help in previous post. I thought I knew a little about home theaters but after combing over opst here I realize I am a complete novice. My in-laws, however, have it in their heads that I can help them with there home theater. I can not. They want to make sure that their money is going in the right direction. Just a quick set up of what they have going on.
Room is 13x18ft with 20 ft ceilings and has been pre-wired 7.1 but they are using only 5.1.
There are 4 other rooms wired for speakers including the outside deck.
They have an Onkyo receiver (not sure of the model)
They have been quoted the following prices for equipment and installation.\
NAD C325 BEE integrated amp-$450
Leviton System Matching Module (Lev-SGAMP-000)-$265
AVAD Earthquake SubWoofer-8" 250 watts-$200
Lev SGVT-00W Leviton Struass Volume Control Qty 4 @ $85 per
Definitive Technologies Mythos Gem Book Shelf Speakers Qty 3 @ $249 per
(The installer wants to use on of the Mythos Gems as a center speaker?)
Definitive Technologies BP/A in-wall bipolar surround speakers Qty 2 @ $200
(these are the rectangular in wall speakers he is mounting in the ceiling for rears?)
Keeping in mind the house is prewired, he wants $650 to install components and speakers. ( This includes all component wires that are needed)