Advice on where to trim to get within budget... [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Advice on where to trim to get within budget...

ineedavfordummies
03-07-2007, 05:24 PM
This is my first time posting and I need help! We are finishing our media room/bar area in our basement and just had it wired for speakers and components. We now need to figure out what exactly to put in the space. Our budget is 4-5K. The original quote we got from the av place (who did the wiring) is closer to 6500-8000. We want the best system we can get and still stay within our original budget(of course). Here are some more facts:

The room is a T shape with the top of the T being the long part 29w x 12d, and the bottom of the T is the "bump out" where the tv and sectional is going and is 16w x 12d.

Speakers are wired for either 5.1 or 7.1. What we want to do is use the back speakers (in the top of the T space) for the surround sound or for a second zone for the bar/cocktail table area.

There will also be a tv above the bar (26-32"). The bar is in the top left corner of the T.

There are 2 glass block windows above the bar and the light will not get to the tv area.

The area will be carpeted (except for tile by the bar).

We listen to alternative or rock music.

We are not total audio/videophiles, but love to watch tv/movies with great sound.

Want to get something that is good, but not the best (Nissan, not Infinity).

Worried about DLP tv making me dizzy??? Watched nephews playing video games on 60" DLP and I couldn't watch it because it was making me sick. Is this the tv??

These are the components quoted:

Sony AS Receiver 900-
Oppo DVD 1080 230-
4 Def Tech Inwall Speakers 600-
Def Center Speaker 200-
2 8" Def Subwoofers 800-
2 Inwall Back Speakers 230-
HACC Power Supply 200-
HVID-MX350 5 Device Remote 150-

50" Sony SXRD 1080 2200-
50" LG Plasma 2800-

We paid 750 for the wiring, it is another 520 for the cables, and 700 for installation.