2channel guy needs help w/HT [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : 2channel guy needs help w/HT

jarhead
02-21-2007, 11:34 AM
Hi everyone

I'm an old 2 channel fan and I am setting up a HT in my house. I have a ton of questions as I am new to 5.1/7.1
I have some vintage gear that I would like to incorporate into my new HT but a sales guy at a local store said it could not be done so I want to ask the experts here on this site before I fork over $ on new gear I may not need. My current gear was all bought in 1981 which I believe classifies it as "vintage." I have: Yamaha M-2 amp (265wpc), Yamaha C-4 preamp, Sansui TU 919 tuner and JBL L150A speakers. I would most like to incorporate my amp and speakers into a new HT. Is there a way? I was advised against using my JBL's because I would have to buy a center and two rear speakers (another brand) and they would sound terrible. I love my amp and JBL's and I know I would have to fork over major $ to get the same kind of quality if bought new. I would appreciate any suggestions and/or comments.

Thanks,
Jarhead

Dusty Chalk
02-21-2007, 11:49 AM
Yeah, there's a way, it's just not perfect. And it might end up being more expensive, as most HT applications come in a receiver, when you start going the route of separate pre/pro (preprocessor -- the HT equivalent of your preamp), you're usually talking about higher end gear -- I don't know too much in the way of entry level pre/pro's.

It will also require a bit more work -- basically, you need to make sure everything is returnable, because you're going to do this by ear. You take the gear home, plug it in, and if it don't sound right, then you're going to return it and try again.

But you won't be flying blind, you'll have us here to help you out.