best way to extend speaker wire runs???? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : best way to extend speaker wire runs????

Tarheel_
02-06-2007, 06:14 AM
I'm moving my equipment rack in the basement and need to extend the speaker wires to reach the new location which is about 23' longer than current run.
The speakers wires are from home depot and are 12AWG. I currently don't use banana plugs, etc. Just straight wire.

I'm not good at soldering so is there another 'best' way to keep the transfer of sound at the highest level?

thanks,
Greg

markw
02-06-2007, 06:38 AM
I've always found twisting the ends together, soldering and then wrapping electrical tape around them to be my method of choice but some well crimped butt connecters should work just as well.

note the words "well crimped"

blackraven
02-06-2007, 03:24 PM
You could buy crimp on banna plugs and then connect using a double ended female bannana plug connector which you can pick up at radio shack. Or you can buy some 10-12g 99.9% copper wire from radio shack which comes on spools of 50' and just use this for speaker wire. By time you buy new high quality bannana plugs and the female adapter, you could have bought new wire for about the same price.

Tarheel_
02-06-2007, 04:51 PM
thanks guys, the speaker wires are already run into the ceiling and i cannot rerun the wires. I may try to solder,but had no luck last time i tried.

Resident Loser
02-07-2007, 06:09 AM
thanks guys, the speaker wires are already run into the ceiling and i cannot rerun the wires. I may try to solder,but had no luck last time i tried.

...were this existing wires fastened? If not you could probably use them as a drag...