Infinity vs Boston Acoustics Systems [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Infinity vs Boston Acoustics Systems

bdr98
01-19-2007, 08:34 AM
I am a newbie here and appreciate all the information I have found searching through the various forums. I would like any feedback on these two systems or if I am missing another brand that is better for the same price. I am finishing my basement and my family room is basically 20 x 17. I am using in-ceiling speakers for the rear surround to keep everything clean. The LCR will be placed in built-ins. I will be powering the system with the Pioneer 1016-TSXV. I will be using this system for HT poruposes 80% of the time. I have narrowed it down to the Infinity and Boston Acoustics systems. I have also put together a Polk, HTD.com and JBL systems that fall into this price range but I keep coming back to these two. Thank you....

Infinity

Front - Primus P162 $200.00
Center-Primus PC250 $125.00
Rear - ERS 110IIS $169.00
Subwoofer - PS10 $254.00
$748.00

Boston Acoustics

Front - CR75 $149.00
Center - CRC $99.00
Rear - DSI455 $149.00
Subwoofer-HSU-STF2 $319.00
$716.00

PS. prices qouted are what I have found by shopping the internet.

GMichael
01-19-2007, 01:08 PM
I like my Infinity's very much. They're a great bang for the buck speaker. The ones you are looking at are the next generation. From what I've read, they are the same components in a nicer box.

But, I'm not sure how they stack up to the Boston Acoustics. I have not heard the models you are looking at.
Have you heard both? What were your likes and dislikes of them?

Oh, and welcome to AR.:idea:

audio_dude
01-19-2007, 02:30 PM
yeah, welcome to AR man, can I just throw in the new paradigm line in there too?

Ok, well, it might be a little over your budget, but you should still audition them!

blackraven
01-21-2007, 12:22 AM