Advice for an amateur - Bose 802? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Advice for an amateur - Bose 802?

jwilliams
01-13-2007, 04:04 PM
Hi all,
First time I've posted, and am hoping maybe some of you might care to offer some suggestions...

I am a dance teacher using my laptop and Bose Companion speakers for class which is fine when there is ~20 people in a small hall. I'm looking to buy a system to use for gym size rooms with 80-100 people. Mostly I'll still be using my laptop, but occasionally will have live musicians (fiddle & piano). I've been to all the pro audio places in my area and told such a variety of things I don't know what to believe.

Any suggestions/comments about the Bose 802 system, Yorkville (Elite or pulse series) or Yamaha stagepas 300? I'm only able to spend in the $1000 - $2000 range for the everything. The music is mostly fiddle/piano and sometimes accordian/drum/keyboard.
Thanks for any help!
Totally confused in Ottawa.

spasticteapot
01-13-2007, 05:26 PM
Hi all,
First time I've posted, and am hoping maybe some of you might care to offer some suggestions...

I am a dance teacher using my laptop and Bose Companion speakers for class which is fine when there is ~20 people in a small hall. I'm looking to buy a system to use for gym size rooms with 80-100 people. Mostly I'll still be using my laptop, but occasionally will have live musicians (fiddle & piano). I've been to all the pro audio places in my area and told such a variety of things I don't know what to believe.

Any suggestions/comments about the Bose 802 system, Yorkville (Elite or pulse series) or Yamaha stagepas 300? I'm only able to spend in the $1000 - $2000 range for the everything. The music is mostly fiddle/piano and sometimes accordian/drum/keyboard.
Thanks for any help!
Line arrays. You want some line arrays.

http://www.lonesaguaro.com/speakers/array/array.htm

There's a lot of ways to do these, but generally the formula is simple.