College student needs help with audio setup [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : College student needs help with audio setup

chrismorgan
02-11-2004, 09:03 PM
Hi Folks,

I am writing to ask you opinion of a purchase I am considering. I am a budding audiophile college student with about $600 I am willing to spend on a new system for stereo listening (mostly classical and some jazz).

Right now I am looking at:
JBL 38II speakers (Discontinued, and priced at $250)
Either and Onkyo 8211 or a Sony STR-DE185 reciever (200, 135)
and a Pioneer DV-563A DVD/CD/SACD/DVD-A (150)

Is there anything I should change in this setup? What type of connections should be used? Any help or additional ideas is appreciated.

Sincerely,
Chris Morgan

kelsci
02-11-2004, 10:20 PM
Chris; I could not find anything on the JBL 38 11 speakers although I think they were a 3 way system. JBL s in a larger size usually sound good( I liked the two way Northridge 28 with its 8 inch woofer). As for the receiver, forget the Sony. The Onkyo has had a good reputation and is one of the last of the two channel receivers out there with decent audio quality and specification. You can read REVIEWS; STEREO RECEIVERS on this website on that receiver which is quite favorable overall.

You do not specify use for watching movies and as such I do not know if you really need the Pioneer DV 563A. If all I was going to listen to 2 channel CDs, I would look more into a CD player for your use. If you were going into a 5.1 system, then the Pioneer would be a good choice because you would have the opportunity to use the multichannel capabilities of that player. They will just remain unused with a stereo two channel set-up.
KELSCI.

chrismorgan
02-12-2004, 12:20 PM
Thanks for the advice on the Onkyo. The pioneer is so that I am able to play both SACD's and DVD-audio.

kelsci
02-13-2004, 03:43 PM