Distortion and clipping vs. percieved loudness [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Distortion and clipping vs. percieved loudness

salad 419
01-07-2007, 06:54 AM
Alright, I'm not good at explaining my concepts, so hopefully some of you more seasoned and wordy folks can change my concept into words and a nice clean question, but I'll try my best.

Why does a "not so" clean reciever (super cheap) sound louder than one with clean power?

What attributes to the room filling mud? Can't really explain this part, but it seems like all the tones are reverberated and you're surrounded in sound. Amost like the feeling of being in a bath tub of warm water. Is it the clipping of the sine waves that limit the dynamics, added Harmonic Distortion, or both?

I recently upgraded recievers (post coming soon) and from the Super Crappy one I had, it took my ears a good 5 hours to realize that I was playing the thing LOUD. It was so clean and musical.

I guess another way to put this is that on most of older equipment when you turn it up to where it starts noticably clips/distorts and then back it off a touch so it doesn't sound as bad, it sounds loud.

Anyway, there's my hillbilly findings. I just wanted to know "why"????????

Mr Peabody
01-07-2007, 09:16 AM
I understand what you are saying and agree. I'm not sure why but my guess is that when the music gets to the point of distortion it becomes more offensive to our ears, something tells our brain to back off. Where when we hear a loud clean signal we don't get that alarm unless it's to the point something hurts. Unfortunately, it seems some people are void of this alarm or their ears can tolerate more abuse than mine.

I also don't know why a distorted signal gives the perception of filling the room more unless it's the total lack of control by the amp we pick up on. The sound no longer has a form, you can no longer depict the bass line, or most any other detail, it just sounds like a loud diffuse mess.