speaker advice for novice [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : speaker advice for novice

JK_Livin22
01-06-2007, 08:01 AM
I am trying to find a pair of floor speakers for around $600 (for the pair, not each) that will serve me well for both music quality and home theatre. So far my research has led me to consider the Polk Audio Monitor 60s and the Boston Acoustics VR1s. I realize that one is a two way and the other is a three way, but I also noticed that the sesitiviy on the Bostons are 93dB compared to 90dB on the Polks. As noted in the subject line, I am a novice and therefore most of the specs don't mean a great deal to me. I realize that the best option would be to go to a store that carried both speakers and listen and compare them. However, I live in a rural area and don't have much access to stores that carry either of these speakers, much less both. My music tastes range from Jazz/Funk (Robert Randolph, Carl Denson, James Brown, etc.) to blues/rock (i.e. the Rolling Stones) to acoustic (J.J. Cale) to alternative (Radio Head). I also enjoy high quality DVD audio (i.e. Kill Bill, Miami Vice, etc.) With that information, could anyone advise me on which of the two aforementioned speakers would most likely satisfy my listening needs. Thanks in advance.

p.s. The Magnepan Magneplanar MMGs have been recommended, and although I'm sure they offer excellent sould quality, I am not neccessarily a fan of planar/ribbon speakers (they have a frail appearance (imho), even if they aren't).

pether
01-06-2007, 09:46 AM
Hello,

You could consider buying second hand (via a hifi-site) too! Then you have much more choice. I had Magnepans but did not like their low end and it had a very small, precise listening position.