Audio Interconnects for Home Theater [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Audio Interconnects for Home Theater

tmonter
12-28-2006, 09:49 AM
I'm starting to replace some of my junk interconnects and was wondering what I should buy for new interconnects.

I'm looking at the following:

New Digital Optical Cable

New Digital Coax Cable

2 Sets of New Analog Cable (CD Player & Television)

Possibly a new Subwoofer cable.

I've been looking at the acoustic research cables at a local audio shop, but this is one area where I have little or no knowledge.

For video I'm using a audioquest silver core component cable.

My Budget is less than $100 for now.

Mr Peabody
12-28-2006, 11:32 AM
Why do you have an analog connection to the TV? That one is probably not worth upgrading. Audioquest is good, it probably is not within your budget, unless you meant $100.00 per cable. Did you notice an improvement with their video cable? Acoustic Research is entry level stuff. If you have to go that route at least use Monster. Maple Shade also puts out some decently priced cables and they will allow a 30 day trial. I have ot tried them myself. I think their website is www.mapleshaderecords.com

Resident Loser
12-28-2006, 01:39 PM
...Acoustic Research is entry level stuff. If you have to go that route at least use Monster...

...and pay the markup for essentially the same level of wire?

Hands me a laff...folks p!$$ and moan 'bout Bose and their ad-based hype and markup yet think nothing of the same practice when exhibited by others...

jimHJJ(...to the OP...genereally speaking, wire is wire...what's wrong with what you are currently using?...)

Mr Peabody
12-28-2006, 02:19 PM
If you are referring to AR vs Monster, I think the build quality is worth the slight difference in price alone but Monster has various levels of quality as many cable manufacturers do.